The 2018 ASPCA Humane Awards Luncheon Honors Extraordinary Pets and People

This week, we honored six animal heroes who have vitally helped humans or other animals in extraordinary ways, as well as people who have demonstrated great commitment to assisting at-risk animals. The 2018 ASPCA Humane Awards Luncheon was held on Thursday, November 15th in New York City and emceed by WNBC anchor Chuck Scarborough. The event also spotlighted the ASPCA’s recent support efforts for animals displaced by the Woolsey Fire.

This long-standing annual event brought together guests and long-time supporters such as Lily Chee, Jill Rappaport, Natalie Pasquarella, Ellen Scarborough, Mark F. Gilbertson, Sharon Jacob, Arriana Boardman, Lisa McCarthy, Barbara Cates, Jeff A. Pfeifle, Allison Aston, Donna Acquavella, Linda Lloyd Lambert, Jane Parver, ASPCA President and CEO Matt Bershadker and more. The luncheon was sponsored by Crum & Forster Pet Insurance Group, while accommodations for honorees were generously provided by the Plaza Hotel. Additional support was provided by West Elm and flowers were provided by B Floral.

Every November, the ASPCA takes the time to proudly recognize heroes, both animal and human, at this special event. Through the Humane Awards we are able to honor inspirational animals and people across the country who are doing exceptional work in advancing the ASPCA’s mission of providing effective means for the prevention of cruelty to animals. 

The heroes recognized this year have demonstrated extraordinary compassion and commitment as animal welfare champions and were selected from a nationwide public call for nominations. This year’s categories included Cat of the Year, Dog of the Year, Kid of the Year, the Equine Welfare Award, the Public Service Award and the Henry Bergh Award

Left to Right: Garret Leonard (Equine Welfare), Lisa Edge (Dog of the Year), Peggy Musen and Nadine Wenig (Cat of the Year), Roman McConn (Kid of the Year), Ian Polhemus and Bear (Public Service Award) and Duane Adams (Equine Welfare)

Read more about this special event and how your involvement can further our mission.

A huge congratulations to this year’s winners! Individual winners will be announced beginning next week on!

Source: Read Full Article